From now on, Iran lifted visa rules for 28 countries. So the nationals of these 28 countries can enjoy visa-free entry to Iran. According to Iran’s goals in boosting tourism and attracting more visitors from countries around the world, Iran has made this decision.


Earlier in December, Iranian Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism, and Handicrafts Ezatollah Zarghami had said that the Iranian Cabinet has approved the decision on unilateral cancellation of the visas for 32 countries.

Later, Iran’s Deputy Foreign Minister for Consular, Parliamentary and Iranian Expatriate Affairs, Alireza Bigdeli, announced that starting February 5, tourists from 28 countries can travel to Iran without obtaining visas. These 28 countries include Saudi Arabia, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Kuwait, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tunisia, Tanzania, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Mauritius, Seychelles, Japan, Indonesia, Singapore, Vietnam, Cambodia, Brunei, Brazil, Mexico, Peru, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belarus and India. Moreover, Indian nationals can just enter international airports of Iran without a visa, it means by airplane. They must obtain visas for entering through land borders.

Please keep in mind that this law is only for travelers with the purpose of tourism; for 15 days (non-extendable) in every 6-month period.

Please consider that Iran had previously offered visa-free entry for citizens of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Georgia, Armenia, Venezuela, Egypt, Malaysia and China.

Since a VOA visa on arrival is not available any more, nationals who are not included in this list, must apply for a visa before their arrival. For more information about the visa process, please read the following link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *